St. Gobban, around the close of the 6th century founded the first of the Christian churches here, a priory for the Canons regular.
The outcome of this initiative was probably the foundation of a Canterbury priory at Dunfermline, the first ‘regular’ Benedictine house in the Scottish kingdom.
After 1436 he worked extensively at the priory of S. Marco in Florence, and from c. 1445 was a good deal occupied in Rome, also painting in Orvieto in 1447.
The site acquired by Bishop Losinga was unusually large; he envisaged not only a cathedral but also a priory for 60 Benedictine monks and an episcopal palace.
Now, in a determined bid to preserve the priory , fund-raisers have set about to gather the remaining £75,000 towards the £195,000 restoration.
The priory was destroyed in the Reformation but was rebuilt as a private home in 1821 and has since housed convalescing miners, injured soldiers and, after standing empty for five years, the Buddhist community.
Nostell Priory takes its name from a priory located in the vicinity for several centuries until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the 1530s.
Amongst monasteries a priory was generally a smaller foundation than an abbey and was in many cases a monastery of monks subordinate to an abbey.
A few years after, and probably in response to, the foundation of the abbey, this church became an Augustinian priory .
There is much to explore here with the foundations of the monastic priory buildings still clearly visible to the south of the church.